Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-30-2017, 12:24 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2004
Chassis: International CE 300
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 71 passenger / 12 window
Proper way to submit a "sealed bid" for a bus?

I have my eye on a local auction where two buses are going up for sealed bid. I've never done this before, I know ZIP about it, so I want to see what y'all think about my plan. The business office said that I need to submit the bid in writing to them, but they said nothing about what I should include. It seemed as though I could include not only my bid, but also conditions.

So I was thinking about writing this:

"I bid $1,800 for bus A, and $2,500 for bus B. If I win both auctions and the District is willing to sell both buses for my winning bid prices, I reserve the right to choose only one bus to buy, or both. If I choose one, the right to the other will go to the next highest bidder if there is one. If there is no other bidder for the bus I don't select if I choose to buy only one, I will not be legally held to buy the other one."

(Really, I'd only buy both if I thought I could resell the other one for a substantial profit. I only want one bus.)

The thought is that I'll bid unusually low for one and at my highest for the other, such that if I win both, I can elect to take the one that I got for the lower price. I really don't think I could do all that well with reselling a bus. (And would I want it sitting in my back 40 until it sells? Yeah... no. But who knows. Who buys a bus around here? Even the business office guy said he'd be surprised if he gets any more bids than mine! Would he say such a thing if it weren't true?)