Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-17-2016, 10:27 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Question about bus purchases

Remember I am a newbie here, and yes I did read the "So you're buying a bus" thread.

Had some questions that weren't covered.

1) I noticed one man selling four buses, two were as they were in service $4500 Dog Nose 2002 Diesels, 2 were the same but the seats removed and not included $5200.

Is it really worth $700 to have the seats removed?

I am actually going to use a bunch of my seats since I will be racing, they will make awesome paddock seats (pit seats).

2) I read the new tires thread, good point. Are there any tires that have been recalled or are good to avoid?

3) I have decided on the dog nose, I thought I had no choice because I am making a toy/race car hauler but then I found out about the flat nosed front engine bus. Are they more expensive or about the same as a dog nose?

4) Am I insane for doing this?

BigPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 12:11 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

4) If you can ask the question then you already know the answer!

3) Pricing is usually based on age, condition, and spe'c's. Type 'D' buses (service door in front of the front axle) generally cost $10K-$20K more when new than a bus with the same spe'c's and number of seats as a Type 'C' bus (front engine under a hood outside with the service door behind the front axle). As a consequence they tend to cost more used. The big advantage of a Type 'D' bus is the entire length of the bus is inside rather than having 8'-10' of the bus sticking outside out front.