Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2018, 02:34 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner ER
Engine: Cummins ISC 8.3 Allison MD3060
Thumbs up The Thomas Built company is awesome!

So, I will be starting a conversion thread soon, as I am picking up my bus the first weekend in March.

I have zero experience with a bus, some experience with engines, and mostly farm trained by my father for anything mechanical and trade related that I will need for my conversion.

I will be working on this with my father and he suggested I go ahead and look for a service manual and possibility an operator manual since I will be driving it home, a 16 hour trip and well... I know nothing about a bus! haha

So, I contacted Thomas Built buses here in NC, and thought they would be able to point me in the right direction for a service manual for my 1995 Saf-T-Liner ER. I found some stuff online but bits and pieces.. some that said ER-MVP and other bits but nothing like I wanted (Dad wanted; he's 82 and stuck on him wanting what he wants. hehe)

Anyways.. long story short I got an email from Thomas Built buses and they not only helped me, but they did research and sent me BOTH the operating manual AND the Service Manual for a bus that is 4 years newer than mine. She apologized that they no longer had a manual for my 1995 but told me that little changed in those 4 years. I guess time will tell how much has changed but I am happy to report I have an Operating manual, 130 pages and a Service Manual, 466 pages for my Saf-T-Liner ER bus.

That shows me they really do go far and beyond the customers expectations. I only asked for a link to buy them from and they sent me the manuals for free.

I told her that I would send her pictures of my process and updates on the bus and she gave me the names of four contacts should I need parts or help along the way.