Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-21-2019, 09:04 PM   #1
Almost There

Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC1000 FE
Engine: 5.9
Urban/City Daytime Parking

So I've read some threads about urban parking but most of them are about finding places to park for the night and sleep in the city. What I'm more curios about is how I would fare if I were to, say, want to visit Chicago or another medium to large city to go to a museum or a show or what-have-you. I assume that so long as I can find two continuous parking spaces anywhere, even on the side of the street, I would be fine? I'm looking at a 26-28' bus so it wouldn't be too hard to maneuver or find enough parking for it.

Main reason I'm asking is because the second purpose of my future bus (first being able to travel and see the american outdoors) is to visit cities for culture and also to purvey my art. I'm a musician and artist and poet and would like to be able to book shows and do art fairs and poetry readings in urban areas. Is it going to be impossible to get in and out even in a short bus? Will I get towed? I would always leave and find a rest stop or boondock or wal-mart lot for the night.

Thanks.

lebusmagique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 10:45 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
When I went to Washington DC, in my converted Eagle, I stopped and a police officer where I could park. He promptly pointed out the charter bus parking at Union Station. We spent four nights there for free. It was a great location close to many of the things we wanted to see.

The only challenge was walking my 100# Golden Retriever.