Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-18-2016, 08:07 AM   #1

Year: 1990
Chassis: Bluebird
Engine: Cummins
Rated Cap: 73
What kind of rivets do I use after I raise the roof

I'm new to the rivet game. I'm doing a 20 inch raise on Thanksgiving weekend 2016. Any one have any rivet suggestions for me?

toasterman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2016, 08:37 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
solid rivets are the strongest.
Closed end blind rivets are what I'm likely going to go with.
But I'll be welding my roof raise sections in the ribs. I'm just riveting the paneling on afterward.
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2016, 04:57 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1987
Engine: 6.9L Diesel
Good for you on the roof raise! In regards to the rivets, I have used both blind and solid and also welded the skin to the frame. I also made a thread which covered this matter if I recall correctly. A few things to note.

Cleco's! Whether you go blind or solid, you will want cleco's. They are absolutely invaluable temporary fasteners. I use the crap out of them and keep on using them.

Blind pop rivets are really easy. You don't need another person, they are a little more forgiving with spatial inaccuracy and the $70 harbor freight rivet gun worked really well. I have not put my rivets through the test of time yet, but so far they have been holding up fine. I used marson 40449 clickfast pop rivets. Not because I have experience or expertise, but because aaronsb used them in his broccolli bus build and I copy people who seem to know what they're doing.