Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-18-2006, 09:04 AM   #1
Skoolie

What to do first?? Questions from a newby......

Hello all, new to the forums here. Been reading up on most everything on these ol' skoolies. I have been considered a jack of all trades and a master of none, a sheetmetal and heating and cooling guy by trade, so a bus shouldnt be any problem. I have recently purchased a 95 IH/AmTrans 72 school bus witha DTA466 and Allison auto. Body wise its nearly perfect, one small rust area that will be easy to take care of.

My question is other than removing the seats and preping the floor, what should I do first? Electrical, water, toilet/disposal, heat/ac? I have looked at the heat pump roof tops and was wondering how well/badly they actually worked. I know with an rv furnace, they will work on 12v. I already have a 4kw onan generator, so that is taken care of.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Jeff

eggman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 10:09 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1993
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: IHC
Engine: Dt360
Rated Cap: 19
Hi Jeff and Welcome!

For us, the order of doing things is in part determined by the eventual floorplan of the bus. I think drawing a layout is a good starting point. We went so far as to draw the bus floor "rectangle" on graphing paper, then on a separate piece of paper drew and cut out small scale versions of appliances, furniture, etc. We could then move them around on the paper and see the inherent limitations (or sublime genius! ) of a layout.

Once we had a layout, the order of doing things sort of fell into place.

Good luck, have fun with those seats!

Sean F
Old 04-18-2006, 11:41 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Wow...there's a lot of answers to those few simple questions!