Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-12-2015, 10:35 AM   #1

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: Cat; 3126E
Rated Cap: 72 Passenger
Connect a generator to bus fuel tank??

Hi. I just purchased an Onan 3.5kva diesel generator that is built in to its own trailer, for construction sites/rentals I would assume. My goal is to tap the bus's fuel tank so that I only have to worry about one fuel gauge. My question is. First, is this a good idea? Second, the genny has two lines that run to the existing tank. I'm not a diesel mechanic, but can anyone tell me why two separate lines? I got a really good deal on the generator, and I was really looking for something with more power. Any thoughts on whether this will be enough? I haven't done anything with the bus yet. It's still pretty much just a school bus. I was hoping for some A/C and the bus doesn't have factory A/C, so probably going the rooftop route. I'm sure I'll be adding propane along the way at some point. I'm still looking for a very cheap RV that I can rob for bathroom parts. I still haven't decided exactly what we're going to wind up with yet, but for now the bus will be our Uhaul to get us from Indiana to Florida, and then who knows. I was leaning toward going the "party bus" route, but could wind up going full RV conversion. Anyway, I would appreciate any thoughts on the subject(s).

Old 03-12-2015, 10:45 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1986
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: 40 ft All American FE
Engine: 8.2LTA Fuel Pincher DD V8
Rated Cap: 89
Don't know why two lines. The POS Onan in the Class C only had one line. I do know the fuel line is held up to where it will not pick up the last 1/4 tank of fuel. Why don't you contact Onan?
https://lorndavi.wordpress.com/blog/
https://i570.photobucket.com/albums/s...ps0340a6ff.jpg
lornaschinske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 12:12 PM   #3
Bus Crazy