Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2021, 06:16 AM   #1

How to register bus in complicated (abuse) situation?

Hi there! I need to be a bit vague for safety reasons, but I left an abusive relationship earlier this year and pretty much just had to flee and leave a lot of my belongings behind. I can't be too specific because my abuser stalked me and is a dangerous person.

I have a school bus in NJ. I am a CA resident. I have the title and bill of sale in hand. Unfortunately, my abuser held onto the keys so I cannot drive it myself. He does not have access to the bus. It is in a secured lot which I pay monthly rent for.

I tried making an appointment at the NJ MVC a few months back to officially transfer the title to my name, but unfortunately they require me to have a NJ driver's license. I asked the CA DMV if I could get temporary plates and drive it to CA to be registered and they said no because they don't do that for out of state vehicles coming in--only for CA vehicles leaving the state. So I'm stuck in limbo and getting disheartened.

How the heck do I get this thing road legal? I have heard about VT registration by mail, but don't I need the title officially in my name? I bought the bus from a dealership and tried asking them but they could not help me. The bus was paid in cash by me and has no liens. The seats are removed. It just needs to be painted.

I had new keys made for the bus by using the part number (I called the manufacturer and they gave me the info) but the keys did not work so I think that means that the ignition was changed out at some point in the bus's career. I thought about ordering a new ignition cylinder and having someone install it. Any tips for that?