Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-29-2007, 12:38 PM   #1

Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International
Engine: International 360
Rated Cap: 66
Info on installing roof top ac

I am new to the bus thing but willing to try. we bought a 93 international ward with the DT360/AT545 powertrain. It just got painted so i am ready to start adding additional features.

1st. I would love to install a roof top ac unit. we do have the emergency hatch that looks like a perfect place for the unit. i am looking at a duotherm unit that is 13.5k BTU's. is that sufficient for the bus? is it beneficial or more problems that it is worth? just got back from cedar point and could use some cooler air! has anyone done this so i can know what not to do?

2nd. I would love to go 65 mph and not 60. How can i adjust the governor if possible?

3rd. There is an enormous amount of heat that builds up in the drivers area. The heater valves are closed under the hood. is this just how they are? Can i insulate the firewall area so it is cooler?

I have already gained a ton of knowledge just reading some other posts.

whoopty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 09:05 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Re: Info on installing roof top ac

Installing a rootop air unit isn't that hard, I just did one on my bus a couple weeks ago... you can LOOK HERE for additional info and pictures...