Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-31-2020, 04:45 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas 6 window
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: MBE 924
Method of wall framing

There seem to be two prominent methods of adding studs to walls, one that attaches wood (2x4, 2x3, etc) across the ribs, the other in-between the ribs. Below are two pics (not mine) that illustrate. It seems that the "in-between" method will give slightly more interior room but is perhaps a bit more work. Any pros and cons you can tell me about?
Attached Thumbnails
Screen Shot 2020-07-31 at 9.24.49 AM copy.png   Screen Shot 2020-07-28 at 9.24.52 AM.png  

cushionhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 08:12 PM   #2
Almost There

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Thomas 4-Window
Chassis: 2003 Ford E350
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 6
I'm fairly new to this, but I don't understand all the framing... What is the point of adding studs? Are you trying to make space for more insulation? If so, across the ribs is the only option. If not, don't bother with additional studs. As much as possible, arrange your cabinetry/furniture such that it can be bolted to the chair rail and ribs. Only add studs where you absolutely need to make an anchor point between ribs.
FatBoySTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 11:02 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoySTL View Post
I'm fairly new to this, but I don't understand all the framing... What is the point of adding studs? Are you trying to make space for more insulation? If so, across the ribs is the only option. If not, don't bother with additional studs. As much as possible, arrange your cabinetry/furniture such that it can be bolted to the chair rail and ribs. Only add studs where you absolutely need to make an anchor point between ribs.