Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2005, 10:58 PM   #1
Skoolie

Possible source of rigs to convert

Hi, I'm new to Skoolie, and decided to put in my two cents on an idea I've been considering.

Recently I was at a car delivery yard, this is the place where automobiles are offloaded from trains, and loaded onto 'portable parking lots' for delivery.

I had noticed some two or three dozen truck/trailer car transport rigs sitting there idle, and asked about them. They were for sale.

These are articulated rigs, not a conventional 5th wheel setup. The trailer 'floors' are VERY low to the ground, and once the hydraulics are removed, the steel could be cut and rearranged/welded to make a very sturdy frame for the living area.

And if you want to haul a personal rig around, you can keep the rear ramp active, and haul your vehicle instead of a toad.

What do you think?

BTW, the first 5th wheel conversion rig I saw was back in the EARLY '70's, even had space for two horses on the back....dunno if it was a Winnebago prototype or not, but seemed pretty nice at the time.

Thoughts? Ideas?

Old 04-11-2005, 10:51 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

source of rigs

Sounds like it would be heavy and therefore expensive to move around. There is a lot of steel in these things--enough that you could actually put cars on top. I'd stay with something lighter, myself.

Herb in Utah
'90 flatnose Blue Bird
Skoolie BOBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 04:37 PM   #3