Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-01-2023, 10:48 PM   #1

Roof raise fibreglass shuttle

Hello,

Newbie here. Have searched a little through past threads, but it seems many were abandoned without much discussion. Dead ends. Curious if there's a thread here to do with someone actually going through with a raise on a fibreglass bus.

Details on my end:

2001 e450 shuttle. Fibreglass shell/skin. Hat channel in the interior (aside from the rear end, where it's mainly 1.5" steel tubing). Sounds like the hats are less common on newer glass builds. Looking at the process for raising a typical metal-skin bus, it seems feasible on mine. Is this ill-advised?

Assuming a guy went ahead with the raise, there are also some questions on how to finish the newly created void! Are there options here?

1. stick to fibreglass. Make a mess. But have a finished product that has some semblance of consistency. I've done some resin work in the past, but this would be a different animal.

2. go with sheet metal. Is this conceivable? Can one rivet sheet metal over fibreglass (or under it)? Would some sort of transition be required? Assuming provisions are made for a metal framework on the interior that will happily accept said rivets. Is this a kooky idea? Sheet metal seems easier to work with (still time consuming...but less messy)

I'm also pondering removing a couple of the rear windows and skinning over, or adding smaller windows. So there's the same kind of question with re-skinning as with the raise. Not as critical. I have skookum double-pane, factory tint windows...so it's not top priority really.

Anyway. Hoping someone has done this...and maybe documented it! Ha. Seems like a tough nut to crack. Will attempt to add a few photos.

photos of wall members...and roof/ceiling members. The orientation came out wonky...they should be turned 90 degrees clockwise.

Thanks for reading!