Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-22-2008, 09:08 PM   #1

So many electrical questions

I am very new to skoolie and while I fear my questions are already answered on here I can't seem to efficiently find said answers so here are the queries on my mind:
Appliances: Has anyone had experience using solar fridges? If so, has the cost of the solar panel(s) truly proved energy saving compared to power generated from a shore line or generators?

I am by no means an electrician, I have learned some basics and applied them to wiring a houseboat with varying degrees of success but have yet to start from scratch on a school bus RV until now. My bus is intended to carry many people and so the conversions we are doing are in part to be useful in their own right but also to comply with the basics necessary to register as an RV and avoid the CDL question. Therefore what we're putting in place will most likely not be heavily taxed.

DC/AC wiring plan: I believe I will put in a battery bank of deep cell batteries, not sure yet if marine grade or golf cart are better, any suggestions? I assume this bank gets ganged and goes through an inverter of appropriate size to be most efficient at maximum load then into a circuit box that sends out several outlets. This is obviously a very basic sketch of what's to be done and I'm hoping someone on here can help me fill in the blanks. One thing I don't yet understand is the use of DC electronics and the position of the inverter. Do I set up a DC box that feeds the DC appliances and an AC box that is fed from the inverter, and does all the power come from the same battery bank or should I have separate banks for each system? Also it seems there is a grounding concern for when charging from shore power, is some kind of relay switch necessary to divert the ground from the chassis to the shore ground?