Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2021, 08:26 AM   #1
Bus Crazy

Year: 1974
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: "Atomic"
Engine: DD 8V71
The last video of a 14-inch roof raise documentation.

Last night, I finished editing and uploading the clips I shot during a roof raise documentation project.

In this episode, I show how I put the final skin over the windshield and then we show the final product. There are brief cameo appearances by my wife, Kara, and Ginger the Black Mouth Cur. A porcupine also adds a bit of nail-biting drama at the end...or, maybe, he just looks at us slowly.

I'll also be making some videos about the installation of 1000W of solar on this bus...and making a custom one-piece entry door. I hope to have those up in the next week. This all takes me longer than I expected, since I'm new to the YouTube thing. But it's fun and a bit addictive and we hope they inspire and help guide others.

https://youtu.be/1opfximP17w

rossvtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 05:37 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 2008
Coachwork: International
Chassis: PB105
Engine: VT365 6.0L v8 Diesel
That's a great video! Love the clean look of your raise, reusing your rivet holes and everything.
indigo_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 06:15 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Quote:
Originally Posted by indigo_k View Post
That's a great video! Love the clean look of your raise, reusing your rivet holes and everything.
Thank you! I do like reusing the existing holes, but that comes with a price if the factory holes aren't very even...like over that windshield. But after doing this a few times, we've settled on that system where we can. You can drill the factory holes out for 1/4-inch rivets and the rivet heads are almost exactly the same size as the factory bucked rivets.

I appreciate the kind comment!
Old 11-04-2021, 09:08 PM   #4

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas