Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-01-2020, 06:43 AM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2002
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International/IC Bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 78
The Welding and Fabrication Thread

I’m new to the skoolie forums and noticed that there were a lot of questions regarding welding/fabrication. There are, what seems like, a couple skilled welders on the forum and I wanted to create a thread to help answer questions for people that are unfamiliar with welding, sheet metal, grinding, and other fabrication topics. Hopefully this can become sticky-worthy and can help spread some knowledge to the skoolie community.

We just bought our first bus and, while I’m experienced with cars/trucks as well as welding and fabrication (I’m a mechanical engineer and I run a custom metal fab shop), this forum has been a great source of knowledge for me and my wife. Not only pre-purchase, but going forward as we design and build out our bus.

Hoping to return the favor by providing what knowledge I have and creating a knowledge pool for others who are skilled in this area to contribute.

Ask away!

RamRod4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2020, 06:50 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American
Engine: Cummins 8.3
I've heard a few people mention the hobart 140 was the welder to go with if all your doing is working on the bus, i found this review video where the guy didn't use gas but goes through the settings and his idea why. Obviously a good looking weld is ideal but will an ugly weld hold just as well? I'm looking to do rust repair on my floor, fabricate under bay storage boxes, then when I'm a little more confident do my roof raise. If i can keep the welder in one of the bays and not deal with gas that would be ideal. Any tips or input would be much appreciated.

https://youtu.be/kt7lsC1TDEQ
aswallie is offline   Reply With Quote