Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2020, 01:52 PM   #1

Weld or rivets?

I'm about to start my conversation and will raise my roof. I'm a welder by trade and I am wondering why not weld the skins on instead of using 2000 rivets? Thanks for any information or opinions.

Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 02:21 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
That is certainly an option for a cleaner finish.
Old 08-18-2020, 06:26 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: RE300
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis View Post
I'm a welder by trade and I am wondering why not weld the skins on instead of using 2000 rivets?
I think rivets are used in bus construction because it is more cost effective to train someone to rivet rather than weld. I'd imagine in your case, since the labor is "free" welding would be the better way to go.

I would have considered welding some of my stuff, however I'm not comfortable enough with it so used rivet nuts and rivets instead.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't welding be technically a stronger joint anyway?
jjaj823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 06:56 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
If welding-only is done, how would you keep the sheet metal from moving in relation to the hat channels while driving down the road?

I am curious how a welder would tackle this. I like to weld, but short of drilling holes through which to weld to the hat channel (in effect like a rivet would be doing) or with arc welding, simply make a bunch of through-welds to tack in the sheet metal how would you do it?
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 07:02 PM   #5
Bus Geek