Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-27-2020, 08:31 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Wheelchair lift as a motorcycle lift?

Newbie here. Still brainstorming and shopping for my bus. This will be my residence and I intend to take my beloved BMW R90S along. I’ve looked at hydraulic lifts but wondered if anyone had moved the wheelchair lift to the rear and modified it for a motorcycle. I have the welding skill but have never really inspected one of these lifts.

Romoshka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2020, 08:39 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1974
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: "Atomic"
Engine: DD 8V71
The platforms vary in width, for different door openings. And they're about 52" long (front to back). We have 3 of them, both Ricon and Braun. All of ours are rated for 800 pounds, so I think that's pretty standard.
rossvtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2020, 02:04 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: C7 Cat
I have seen many large motorbikes on them and as rossvtaylor has stated rating at 800lbs. I expect that is 800lb SWL and with it being for passenger occupancy I imaging there is a very generous safety margin built in there.
Good luck with the project and send pics.
Regards

Oscar
Oscar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 06:46 AM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 2002
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: International/IC Bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 78
Agreed on the rating. Anything that's used to move people will have a safety factor of at least 1.5 or 2. I would bet you can move 1000 to 1200lb with the lift no problem.

That said, most any vintage BMW bike should be sub-500 lbs all day long so you're plenty good on the weight from what I can see.
RamRod4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 12:44 PM   #5
Bus Nut

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Vista 3600
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 24000 lbs