Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-09-2017, 01:01 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

'97 Thomas RE conversion

I bought this bus a couple of years ago, pulled the seats and it sat for 2 years. I finally got around to getting back to work on it. It's a 37' 1997 Thomas RE with a Cummins 5.9 and a Allison 643. It has 140,000 miles, no rust, 80% tires all around. It was mainly the activities bus, so it doesn't have a lot of stop and go miles. Because it's a RE, it has a huge basement.

I am a professional cabinet maker and custom woodworker with my own shop. I have three sons in their 30's. The older two have been building custom Sprinter van conversions for over 10 yrs and have their own shop. They take a empty van and add seats, beds, upholstered wall and ceiling panels, led lighting, diesel furnaces, solar, high and low voltage, kitchen, toilets, showers, etc. My youngest works in IT and builds gaming computers. My wife is a pretty good seamstress. My point is; we have the skills.

So, back to the bus. I despise bus windows. They're ugly and they leak. The plan is to remove them, reframe the openings to accomodate 9 RV windows I salvaged from a rotting 30 ft trailer. I also snagged a 10 gallon water heater, furnace and elec panel.