Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-23-2021, 03:30 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2005
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: Mercedes-Benz
Rated Cap: 36pass
Just another rusty school bus conversion.

Ive been working on the bus for a couple of months, a couple of hours a couple of days each week... I dont really count October or November because who is counting the year 2020 anyway, and I was still recovering from my accident so I couldnt do much.

So far I feel like I could have definitely done more than Ive accomplished but considering that Ive been working this project 99% by myself, and the bus is parked 15min away from my current home I feel like Ive done enough when I can.

The bus is completely gutted and the process took me a while because most of the screws on the ceiling and the sidings were rusted and they were stripping so they all had to be modified into flatheads first and some of them broke off so they had to be ground off altogether. I feel like that is what held me back the most.

Ripping the floor out wasn’t so hard it was just vinyl flooring stuck to the metal floor on the bus. The bus has a lot of rust that I do have to patch up around the wheel wells, obviously, and both lower back panels. No rust on the ceilings at all, or I would have sold the bus immediately, I do not have any welding experience and Im already sad enough I have to patch up the sidings and wheel wells.

I ripped out all the windows, the sealant was starting to turn into some sort of goop in some areas and just dry and crusty in others, and I dont even know how that is possible. I decided to keep all my windows, because, again I have no welding experience, but I also just want to go with a more open feel to the bus, so I brushed them down with a brush attachment on the angle grinder primed the window frames, put the windows back up and resealed them with clear sealant.