Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2020, 09:47 PM   #1

Year: 1977
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: 36' Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71, Eaton Fuller 10spd.
Reverse Layout?

Hi all,

Is there a downside to a 'reverse layout', meaning bedroom at the front of the bus and living room and kitchen at the back of the bus?

I've been dreaming about a reverse layout since Fall 2018, as I like the idea of being able to modify the back of the bus to open up entirely so that the living room area can then have a back porch behind it. I've searched for others who have done so, and only found 2, but in both cases it was a passing mention of planning to do so. I didn't see any concrete commentary on why it ultimately did or didn't work.

Would love any and all feedback, thoughts and input.

P.S. I've been obsessively researching & planning for about 4 years now & thanks to COVID providing lots of extra time, It's finally time to take the plunge. Excited to get input from all of you lovely people as I dive in. Thanks in advance!!

Aaryn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2020, 09:50 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65
Someone just posted one the other day, it might have been in a For Sale thread. Bedroom in the front, kitchen in the rear.

Edit: Ah, here it is https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f9/ne...ell-30854.html
Old 04-20-2020, 09:57 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Bedroom in the front (assuming you keep your entrance in the front) means you have to go past your bed to get inside. You'd have to go past on the side rather than the middle, and without a roof raise you will have headroom problems there. You can move the door and the stepwell to the middle (as some users here have done) but that's a substantial bit of fabrication work.