Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2021, 02:15 PM   #1

Roof Raise Resources

Looking to do a 12" roof raise on my 32' International. I've considered outsourcing to someone else as I have no welding experience, but I've found few options and they are all crazy expensive. I also would love to at least be able to work on it some.

- What options are there for outsourcing the roof raise completely?
- Are there options for having help from someone with experience to coach you through the process, what materials, etc?
- How difficult is it to do yourself?
- What is the cost of doing it yourself vs. having someone else do it?

Also, not sure if 12" is too much. Our bus' internal height is 6' 1", and I'm 6', so not sure if 12 inches is more than enough, and 6" would do.

Taking all tips, tricks and etc.

Cameron Finley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2021, 03:46 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
IMHO, 6" would be more than enough for a 6'er.
I would never ay the crazy price some outfits charge for a rof raise. There are enough tutorials to do it yourself if you just hire a competant welder. I've seen prices in the $4-$9k range It could be done for less than $1000 if you do it all yourself.
Old 11-03-2021, 03:53 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1974
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: "Atomic"
Engine: DD 8V71
We charge $200 per linear foot (front to back) of roof. On a 32-foot bus, if it's a flat front, that's $6400. And of that, right now, materials constitute about $1800-2000 of that. I tell you that to be transparent and to let you know what it could cost to have someone like us do it.