Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-07-2020, 09:41 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

The Beginning of a Journey - Building the Busasaurus

I've just bought my bus and started documenting it on YouTube. The channel will be a mix of build videos and chatting buses (Waffle videos).

If you have any tips to add to my first video, I welcome them. Good tips will get put into the next video.

https://youtu.be/0su803kNxR0

Thanks, all!

---------------

I am building a full tiny house into this bus, and using my carpentry skills to do most of it myself. I am a bit of a novice on electrical and plumbing, and a big darn dummy on the mechanics of the bus. I'm learning to weld, though, and I have enough experience and gumption to get started, along with my trusty power tools and laser cutter. I'm looking at a year to two year build.

Because I want the bus to look cool, reflect my wife and I, and be a unique home, I'm fully theming the bus around dinosaurs. The outside will eventually look like the jeeps from the original Jurassic Park, and there will be little dinosaur touches throughout the interior. If you're gonna go custom, go custom, right?

---------------

What I've done so far:
  • A whole lotta research, culminating in around 80 conversations with sellers about their buses, more than 15 hours of driving to look at 4 different buses and eventually buying one.
  • Purchased a 72-passenger 2003 International 3800 with a Blue Bird body from a school bus contractor who was hauling kids in it up until March.
  • Drove the bus 150 miles, including on the interstate. It has cruise control and I am elated.
  • Priced out paint with an auto paint shop. Pure paint is going to be expensive, so I'm pondering painting most of it with truck bed liner, a suggestion from the auto paint shop guy.
  • Cleared out my workshop and sold a bunch of old projects that I no longer need / have time for.