Old 07-28-2020, 10:58 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: Cummins 3126
Rated Cap: 66
The Wandering Jackalopes

We might call the bus Jack, or maybe Jackie, but regardless, we're definitely the Jackalopes on this journey!

Our bus is a 2000 Blue Bird All American RE that's a little beat up body-wise, but really solid, rust-free, and with tons of potential! We're planning on taking our time and doing it right. Past projects include a motorcycle garage (Tim), converting the 2nd floor of a barn into a music recording studio (Tim) and building a cottage from a kit (with some professional help) that started as a place for guests, but evolved into an art studio for Dharma Cowgirl, Jewelry (Tim and EJ).

This bus will certainly be our most ambitious project to date and will require LOTS of learning! We have some advantages, as I've been doing woodworking for many years and have some machining skills, though I suck at welding. Fortunately we have a friend who is an expert welder and metalsmith.

Today we began our work in earnest, using a hydraulic ram to push out some dented in body panels from a previous driver clipping some corners too close. This is one of those times when Harbor Freight is actually a great resource, as this potentially one-time-needed tool only cost $170 and did the job in about 30 minutes.

Here's the Ram kit that we bought. It worked well. I don't know if we'll ever need it again, but I think it might come in handy around the property.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Harbor Freight Hydraulic Ram.jpg (495.4 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg Getting ready to use the ram .jpg (409.3 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg The undercarriage of our bus.jpg (285.9 KB, 11 views)
CoffeeGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 11:29 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: Cummins 3126
Rated Cap: 66
Making small steps of progress...