Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-22-2021, 06:14 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Thinking about an E-450

So, I've been trying to find the right platform for my skoolie. Given that it's just me and my harps (gotta have a spare) I'm thinking about converting an E-450 Cutaway.
Would this be a mistake?
How many miles is too many for the engine?
Same for transmission?
If it is getting elderly, what can be done? Valves? Rings? Throw it out?
Pardon my ignorance, but I'm a retired commercial pilot, and we never cared about the date on the name plate, we wanted to know about the components.

Much obliged for your helpful counsel.

~S.

Old 03-22-2021, 09:29 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Coachwork: IC / Amtran
Chassis: 3000 / 33' Flat Nose
Engine: IC T444E / Allison MT643
Rated Cap: 72 Kids / 48 Adults
So, when you say "harps", I'm assuming you're not talking a mouth organ (fits easily in a shirt pocket). How big are the harps?

Since you have two of them, are you going to hang a hammock between them to sleep, because it seems there's no room for a bed and harps in a cut-away.

I think the first thing you should figure out is what you are going to put into your bus, besides the obvious harps.

Bed
Kitchen
Toilet

I think those three are the minimum to consider it an RV and get it registered insured as an RV.

Are you going to play the harps in the bus, or just travel to gigs and take the harps out of the bus to play?

Once you've figured out how much floor space you need, then look for a bus.

If the cut away is a good size, then you're half way to owning a bus.

Per how old and used is too old and used, are you talking gas or diesel? Huge difference in how many miles each will go. In general, most cut aways have gas engines.

If you're not able to properly check out the engine and transmission, have it inspected first, or low ball the seller in case there's something wrong.