Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-23-2019, 05:44 PM   #1

What size bus/mobile massage

I've finally decided to start seriously looking at a bus to do a skoolie conversion in 2020. I really want a short bus, 5-6 windows or something. Definitely not more than 28' long. My plan was to have my home base where I work every two weeks as a massage therapist (which I've been doing full time for 6 years) and then take two weeks off traveling and pursuing other things (writing, etc). But recently I thought maybe I could do mobile massage and bring the spa to the client; still work part time at home base as needed, but having mobile office space would allow greater freedom of travel if I decide to go to the western half of the US (I am based in East TN). The only problem is that I would need a longer bus so I could put a treatment room in the back. And I don't really know if the sacrifice in upsizing is worth it. I can only imagine a large bus being more difficult to handle and find parking for (especially in East TN where we have so many hills and sometimes it's hard to find flat space). Also the office space would mean a sacrifice of some storage since I planned to have my bed at the back of the bus with a mini "garage" underneath.

I'd appreciate any thoughts and feedback. Thanks! =)

Edit: I meant to post this in the general area, sorry!

JujuJourneys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 06:12 PM   #2
Bus Geek

I'd be careful about where you offered your services as a freelancer, given most state regulations about massage licensing. . .
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 06:16 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie