Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2021, 06:17 PM   #21
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,141
Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
You keep saying that like it means you don't need any form of insurance in N.H.. This is not true, if you don't have insurance you have to provide Financial responsibility by having money set aside in an escrow account or a bond.
As I stated in post#17, as long as your driving privilege's are in good standing, no insurance is required.

No form of insurance is required to register a vehicle in NH unless you've had a DUI, more than 12 points from infractions, or an at fault accident. A SR22 is then required.
Not sure why you think one has to have an escrow account or bond? After a personal screw up, you must carry the SR22 for a couple of years.
After that, you are free to go uninsured once again...

peteg59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 07:11 PM   #22
Skoolie
 
matthews2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Southern VT
Posts: 115
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas Bus
Chassis: Allison MD 3060
Engine: Catepillar 3126B 210hp/605 ft lb
I want insurance and am willing to pay but one of my BIG ongoing bus issues is insurance coverage. Bus owner 3 years, progressive year(they cancelled) 1, allstate year 2-3

Insurance is expensive 15k bus value, $850 in 2020
, now 850 plus 500 more to include personal auto Cant find alternatives.

Remember 10 years ago my class C, no collision, was $42 a year. No missing 0, went ON my auto policy. I called and said this aint a pull along popup!

Credit score and loss history good and none! Older stable job/home owner for decades.

I did NH as a college student 30 years ago with a van and pulled it off (no insurance registration as non resident masshole) but it seems the insurance offerings for buses a big worry of mine yearly!
matthews2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 07:17 PM   #23
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 9,674
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by peteg59 View Post
As I stated in post#17, as long as your driving privilege's are in good standing, no insurance is required.

No form of insurance is required to register a vehicle in NH unless you've had a DUI, more than 12 points from infractions, or an at fault accident. A SR22 is then required.
Not sure why you think one has to have an escrow account or bond? After a personal screw up, you must carry the SR22 for a couple of years.
After that, you are free to go uninsured once again...
You better have a large bank account.

New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Laws do not require you to carry Auto Insurance, but you must be able to demonstrate that you are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the event of an “at-fault” accident.
__________________
I Thank God That He Gifted Me with Common Sense
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 07:46 PM   #24
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,141
Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
You better have a large bank account.

New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Laws do not require you to carry Auto Insurance, but you must be able to demonstrate that you are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the event of an “at-fault” accident.
All you have to do if you are in an at fault accident with no insurance, is file bankruptcy.
Unless you killed someone, Bada Bing, Bada Boom, you get your license restored AND you're off the hook for any money owed to the "victim(s)" for damages.
"Live Free or Die".

Scary, but true.
peteg59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 08:22 PM   #25
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 9,674
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by peteg59 View Post
All you have to do if you are in an at fault accident with no insurance, is file bankruptcy.
Unless you killed someone, Bada Bing, Bada Boom, you get your license restored AND you're off the hook for any money owed to the "victim(s)" for damages.
"Live Free or Die".

Scary, but true.
It actually outrageous if that's the case. The catch is do they make you show that you can provide sufficient funds now, or only after an accident that the victim will end up out of pocket for if they only have liability. I think the proof should be provided up front. The money is there and you never spend it unless you have an accident.
If you have an accident and you don't have insurance, your license and registration will be suspended until the pay for the damages and then show proof of insurance.

Here's another issue with no insurance in NH, don't take your bus into any other state that requires insurance or you will be illegal.
__________________
I Thank God That He Gifted Me with Common Sense
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 08:24 PM   #26
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 9,674
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
I was right, you have to show financial responsibility up front.

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

In New Hampshire, after a driver is found at fault in an accident, he or she must provide “proof of financial responsibility,” that is, proof that he or she can provide sufficient funds to cover damages resulting from accidents that occur in the state and arise out of the ownership, maintenance, control, or use of a motor vehicle (N.H. Rev. Stat. § 264:20). The amount of proof one must provide is $25,000 because of bodily injury or death to one person, $50,000 because of bodily injury to two or more people in any one accident, and $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property.

Proof of financial responsibility may be given by (1) purchasing and maintaining an auto insurance policy from an insurance company or (2) depositing money or securities with the state treasurer (N.H. Rev. Stat. §§ 264.21 & 264.22).
__________________
I Thank God That He Gifted Me with Common Sense
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 07:17 AM   #27
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1
Year: 1994
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: B7T042
Engine: 6.0 Chevy
Rated Cap: 60
I use General. I've had them 4 years and rate is reasonable and never changed at around 220 per year. However, I've never filed a claim.
Bheardnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 08:22 AM   #28
Skoolie
 
matthews2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Southern VT
Posts: 115
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas Bus
Chassis: Allison MD 3060
Engine: Catepillar 3126B 210hp/605 ft lb
Just called Natl General they quoted $457-586 liability only(100/300 or 250/500). No roof decks or house doors she said.

Kinda want full coverage just in case it was not a cheap conversion, might go that way...
matthews2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 09:55 AM   #29
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,141
Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
I was right, you have to show financial responsibility up front.
/\...Only if one's driving privilege's are under suspension for causes already discussed.

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

In New Hampshire, after a driver is found at fault in an accident, he or she must provide “proof of financial responsibility,” that is, proof that he or she can provide sufficient funds to cover damages resulting from accidents that occur in the state and arise out of the ownership, maintenance, control, or use of a motor vehicle (N.H. Rev. Stat. § 264:20). The amount of proof one must provide is $25,000 because of bodily injury or death to one person, $50,000 because of bodily injury to two or more people in any one accident, and $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property.

Proof of financial responsibility may be given by (1) purchasing and maintaining an auto insurance policy from an insurance company or (2) depositing money or securities with the state treasurer (N.H. Rev. Stat. §§ 264.21 & 264.22).
All of that gobbldy gook is just filing a SR22 with an insurance company.
If one is too destitute to pay for/file a SR22, they simply file for bankruptcy.

Just another example of loopholes that get exploited when folks know how to play the system.

Now back to our regularly scheduled Allstate thread...
peteg59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.