Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-16-2011, 10:38 PM   #1

Best type of bus for highway usage...

Hello everybody!!! My name is Flannel, and I am new to this conversion world. It's been a dream of mine for a few years now.

But I have some queries.

I was noticing many different types of school buses. I take it that such a bus must be suited for it's purpose (hauling school children to and from school).

It really makes me wonder as to what models or versions, or categories of buses are best suited for long mileage highway trips.

I know that buses are typically used in a stop and go situations, and probably have a lot of torque. They're typically more of a people hauler, than a
long distance land voyageur.

Any suggestions?

Flannel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 03:49 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 92
Coachwork: ward flat nose
Chassis: international
Engine: dt466 mt643 air ride
Rated Cap: 84
Re: Best type of bus for highway usage...

You have several choices here between comfort and economy. If you want comfort, you want to go with a rear engine 8.3 Cummins diesel pusher with air ride, mainly All Americans or something close. I think they are good for about 8 to 9 miles per gallon.

On the other hand, if you prefer economy, you need a dt360 or cummins 5.9 front engine bus with a manual transmission. If you can't handle a manual transmission, at least look for an Allison mt643, md3060 or the newer 2000. These transmissions all lockup in the upper gears, similar to a manual and are said to be at least 10% more fuel efficient then the AT545 Allison. Now you can find some diesel pushers with the Cummins 5.9 and Allison combo, but they won't be quite as fuel efficient as a manual shift transmission which should get you between 11 & 15 mpg.
kotflb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:34 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1986
Coachwork: BlueBird