Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-14-2021, 12:54 PM   #1

Building Science for Skoolies?

Hey y’all, happy to be a part of this awesome community ! Just jumping into the skoolie life and seems there isn’t much detail out there for designing a proper assembly that is resilient against moisture and mold. I’m also seeing a LOT of folks using materials and methods that would trap moisture and are not accounting for any vapor transfer.
Excuse the length of this post, but I feel this topic is super important due to the apparent wide spread confusion of materials, vapor barriers, and the amount of work and money people are investing into this process. Would love to hear the input of other experienced builders (especially with bus experience) to come up with the best practice for insulating and sealing a skoolie. I’m an architect and builder (for regular homes) and have done a lot of research on building science and the thermodynamics of typical floor and wall assemblies. A bus is obviously a different ball game, having a painted steel shell (continuous vapor barrier) which throws a little more of a challenge as far as managing vapor transfer, mold and condensation than a conventional home. It’s also a massive thermal bridge, allowing heat or cold to transfer to the interior via conduction of the metal. This is a huge concern that seems to be overlooked in most bus builds, and most certainly needs to be addressed to avoid condensation and a comfortable interior.
For any floor or wall assembly, it’s important to maintain a clear path for vapor transfer to allow the wall or floor to dry out to both the interior and exterior (depending on the climate and season).