Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-08-2020, 12:22 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Bus choices, mobile shop

Hey there. I'm new to the whole skoolie thing, but have been looking at making one for a while as a mobile home and workshop (I like to work oncars n stuff like that). Im not too worried about costs, as I'll be working on this project for a while as I'm in college living with my parents for now, and I'll be going into grad school, so I'll have plenty of time to save up money.

So far, ive been looking at options, and know a few basic things regarding my situation:
  • I need plenty of length to fit a small car garage in the back
  • plenty of space to work underneath the bus, mostly for frame reinforcement and engine modifications
  • off-road capability
  • I won't move the bus too often once I park it, hence the car space
  • I have enough mechanical experience to modify, repair, and swap drivetrain components
  • I don't have any experience fabricating parts / welding, but I should soon.

Anything helps. I will be reading general info on this forum again after I post this.

bonesjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2020, 02:08 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
If I follow you correctly:

- You want a space in the back that you can drive a small car INTO and work on the car inside. This is possible, and it has been done. It will take up a lot of "home" space.

- You want off-road capability. Please define. Do you mean dirt roads or 4x4?

- You will not be moving it often and thus will be using the car which may or may not be parked inside the bus when the bus is parked.

What frame and engine modifications do you expect you will be needing?
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2020, 02:20 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Quote: