Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-16-2021, 07:26 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Bus finding expertise wanted

Hello everyone out there. I'm starting my search for a bus for my family of 4 (two young kids). We are looking for a 40' bus to build from scratch over the next 2 years while my wife finishes school. I'm located in the Raleigh-Durham area, and have seen a number of places within a few hours that have a lot of buses for sale. The thing is, I'm a total novice and am not confident I'll know why one bus might be better than another when I'm looking at dozens of them at once.
I'm wondering if there's any suggestions on finding someone out there who I might be able to hire on to help in the hunt? Has anyone done this before? Local bus mechanics or maybe even a skoolie member?

cwbrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 07:34 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2013
Chassis: IC RE
Engine: HT570 / 3500SP
Rated Cap: 4
Hello,
Family of 4 here too, living full time in our 40ft bus. Just the right size for us.
You'll receive many PM offering help. Stay focus on what you want, what you like and what you are ready to pay for. YOU are buying YOUR bus
2 years is a nice timeframe to perform a conversion.
Happy hunting!
ABBus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 07:46 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
You're probably going to be much better off doing lots of research and making your own decisions (you can of course consult with the experts here and elsewhere). There isn't exactly unanimity among people here about what constitutes a good bus (except for the Holy Grail of the 40' Blue Bird with an MD3060 trans and underbody storage), so if you hired someone you'd be committing yourself to their view of things without knowing whether that view is compatible with yours.
Old 05-16-2021, 07:54 PM   #4