Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-25-2016, 08:17 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000
Can't go faster than 60mph max...30mph on hills

Trying to figure out why my 2000 Thomas Saf-T-Liner will not accelerate properly. It has the Cummins 5.9 ISB in there. I am a newbie, just bought the bus two months ago, no prior bus or Diesel engine experience. I just changed the fuel filter, and have checked the fuel lines. The fuel injection pump was replaced a couple years back...although I've heard that these buses often have problems with those...uhhhgh.

I do have a leak coming from the fuel tank area that I need to fix. Would that cause this issue? I don't hear any unusual noises or jerks or anything like that. I can hear the turbo working. It seems like so many things might be the cause. Anyone experienced that could point me in a good direction?

Got the bus for $2700 and already put $1200 into repairs.

Spinksmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 09:56 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC-2000 Frt Eng, Tranny:MT643
Engine: 5,9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 84
60 MPH may be all it is supposed to go. Remember, this is a school bus.

For someone without heavy vehicle experience, it can be quite an adjustment to accept how heavy vehicles operate. (No offense intended!)

When I bought Millicent, she struggled to reach 55 MPH. Then we turned up both the fuel (power) and the governor (RPMs). Now she accelerates right thru 55 and tops out around 64, at the official redline of 2,600 RPM.

Still, I see 20 MPH at times on steep grades with (very) heavy load.

Obviously, fix any leaks and such real problems.

Can you recruit an experience driver to evaluate her?

You bought a 16 year old bus for $2,700. I bought a 14 year old bus for $5,500, and I'm quite happy with her, even though I paid "full retail".