Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-14-2018, 11:12 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Unhappy Choked on 1st auction

Complete newbie saw a 2002 Blue Bird CS 8.3ISC 300 with an Allison B400R on public surplus. High mileage 616,757 . Called and got to talk to their mechanic who had jumpstarted it recently, said started right up but had been mainly sitting for 2 years. Rotated out on schedule, had good maintenance. Bid once and choked, sold for 1425.00!!! Yreka CA was only a 6 hour drive. I am looking for a mid size bus to convert and live in for next 2 years. Need high ceiling! I am 6 ft but plan to give to 6'5" son eventually. Did I miss a good deal? Want to give me advice on auctions/bidding. I do not want to drive clear across the country to get a bus, have too many beasties at home to leave to a pet sitter for too long. I am still kicking my self!!!

NotAClue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 11:20 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1993
Chassis: IH 3800
Engine: DT360
Rated Cap: 66
600K miles... if there were no service records of an engine/trans overhaul, suspension/brake work, etc... I would have passed.

Can find better with less miles on it for similar prices.
Mr4btTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 11:56 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
I don't know where you're finding better than that for that money and fewer miles. The mileage would be a concern, but not a deal breaker if it was maintained properly. Ya, you missed a good deal.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 12:12 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie

Learning!

Had opportunity while talking to their mechanic, will remember to ask more questions on prior work done. He seemed positive about the bus, I still think I missed a deal......
Old 09-14-2018, 12:30 PM   #5
Bus Geek

Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne