Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-24-2020, 09:06 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 90
Coachwork: bluebird conventional
Chassis: international
Engine: dt466
Rated Cap: 72
Clutch type

Hi, All. My bus, 90 IHC bluebird, dt466, spicer 5 speed. I have been collecting all the parts to turn this into an mt643. But now I,m leaning towards keeping the 5 speed. My quesetion is... does any one have this setup in their bus and what ype of clutch do you have? My biggest concern is pedal effort. Right now I have a single plate pull clutch. Thinking of going 2 plate. Any input?

bluebird90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 10:46 PM   #2
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
I'm no mechanic, but from what I understand multiple discs will increase longevity but also increase effort. Just my $0.02. I'm no heavyweight but I found the average clutch in a semi to be no real trouble.
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 11:35 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird90 View Post
My biggest concern is pedal effort. Right now I have a single plate pull clutch. Thinking of going 2 plate. Any input?
My '97 has the 466E with the Spicer 5 sp....single plate. Probably 80% of all the vehicles I've ever owned were manuals.....I just prefer the additional control of my shift points. Sure, this clutch is stiffer, but look at how much beefier all the surrounding components are.