Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-07-2022, 09:59 AM   #1
Almost There

Year: 1999
Chassis: MVP RE
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Cockpit of Gauges

In my previous employment, i was an equipment operator at a power plant. In our control room we had hundreds of gauges. Recently I have seen some tractor trailer rigs with a dash full of gauges. perhaps 25 -30. Are there are any skoolie members who were truck drivers that know what all they are monitoring? I have not seen the inside of many buses but 8-10 gauges is about all that I can count. My point is more than an observation, I would like to add more gauges to my build in the future. So from the drive train prospective, what else to monitor?

budbud7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2022, 10:09 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Collins
Chassis: NB18FD Oshkosh
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 18,500
The fully gaged trucks monitor axle temps/ trans temps. engine oil temps. Anything that runs above ambient on operating temps can be monitored.

Remember 90% of people never look at gages very often or ever. So the more gages installed the more to ignore. They might look good when looking in the window. The big question is. Are you a gage scanner or not.
PhilipE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2022, 12:36 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: Eldorado
Chassis: E450
Engine: 6.0 Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 14+2
i have a powerstroke 6.0 (yes, that one) in my econoline based shuttle bus - i'm planning on monitoring (using a scangauge 3):

instant Fuel economy
fuel rail pressure (injector issues when it is too low)*
EGR Temp (related to EGR issues)*
coolant temp (identifies EGR cooler issues)*
oil cooler temp (causes EGR cooler issues)*
oil pressure*
Trans oil temp*
Chassis battery/charge voltage
ICP pressure - below 500PSI is an issue*
Engine RPM

couple others that i am on the fence about:
converter lockup/gear