Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-27-2017, 07:32 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2004
Chassis: International CE 300
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 71 passenger / 12 window
COMPLETE NEWBIE here, with some basic questions

Well, let's get the basic stuff out of the way first, shall we?

1) Do you need a CDL to drive a school bus if you are not going to be hauling more than 15 passengers?

2) What is the standard amperage rating of the alternator on a bus engine? (Figure a Cummins engine, because that seems to be the one that gets the most love.)

3) Is it relatively easy to find front-engine buses with the Cummins straight-6 diesel engine? (My mother-in-law, a bus driver for 15 years, said that the Cummins engine is the best and she has always preferred front-engine "conventional" buses because they feel safer.)

4) What is the standard floor-to-ceiling height inside a bus?

5) If I wanted to do a "roof raise", which I've read about, exactly how much could I expect to pay to have it done at a shop and would it compromise the safety of the bus in a rollover?

6) Can buses be outfitted with under-the-body storage such as compartments, water tanks, a place for a generator, etc? (If "yes", is there any disadvantage to doing so?)

RomaniGypsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 07:50 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: bluebird
Chassis: chevy
Engine: 3116 catapillar
Rated Cap: 71 now 2 humans 1 cat
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomaniGypsy View Post

1) Do you need a CDL to drive a school bus if you are not going to be hauling more than 15 passengers?

2) What is the standard amperage rating of the alternator on a bus engine? (Figure a Cummins engine, because that seems to be the one that gets the most love.)