Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-30-2008, 01:05 AM   #1

Cost/Timeframe Friendly Build? (Newbie)

Hello all! I've long admired skoolies, and have been wanting to do a conversions myself. I've been looking at buying a trailer, but nothing I find is deserving of the $$$. And looking used, I don't see many as something I'd like to live in. And that's another thing, I'm looking at it as a home on wheels. I'm single and young, and haven't gotten a chance to travel much. So it's making a lot of sense to me that I should look seriously at building one of my own. I am a carpenter, and mechanically inclined, so I don't think I would have too much trouble putting one of these together.

I'm looking to have an RV for the road in May, '09. Moneywise, I'm looking at starting my project, Skoolie or truck for trailer, in June. I will have a steady flow of $ to put towards the project at that time, and lookin' at around $15 000 - $20 000 (cash) in the end. As for time, I figure on probably being able to spend 6 to 20 hours a week on it. Oh, and I'd preferably like to get a fairly large, front engine school bus.

So, what kind of money does it take to make a nice liveable skoolie?
And how many hours does it take to complete one?

Thanks for any help

countryboy56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 08:34 AM   #2
Skoolie

Re: Cost/Timeframe Friendly Build? (Newbie)