Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-23-2007, 09:20 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Driving with Roof Vents Open

The potential ignorance of this question might give away the fact that I'm a skoolie rookie, but can I drive with my roof vents popped open?

They're the stock vents/escape hatches that came standard on the bus.

Thanks!

Ottomobile
1992 International Bluebird

Ottomobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 09:35 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
I just took my CDL written test including the school bus endorsement section. I can tell you without fail (because it was on the test) that you CAN drive with your roof hatches open. Just be mindful of them when you park due to weather and security and watch for the height difference under low bridges...or so the manual says.

Most do have a ventilation position which is perfectly acceptable.

*edit* Oh yeah...you also need to know how to operate all emergency exits and you must make sure windows and doors are locked. Also, if they have a red light above them you must make sure they are functional anytime the headlights are on which happens to be any time there are passengers on board. Ok...I think I'm ready for the road test....someone want to loan me a 26,001+ lbs bus with a current Minnesota inspection and air brakes?
Old 03-23-2007, 09:35 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Sure. why not? I suppose if it's raining that could present a problem. Look at the school busses in your town as summer approaches...you'll see lots of them do that (at least around here they do)...

You just might be a Redneck if...
...your motor home used to be a school bus!
...Your living room has a steering wheel!
...Your home has brake lights

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee
1989 Thomas Diesel Pusher (Cat 3208/Freightliner)
Chesapeake, Virginia
GoneCamping is offline   Reply With Quote