Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-15-2020, 01:20 PM   #1

Electric Bus Conversion?

Hi everyone,

I’m a Skoolie newbie (family of four – me, DH, DS, and DD) and I’ve just joined the forums having spent years talking as a family about getting an RV but holding back for various reasons. We finally decided to start serious planning earlier in the year, and having originally wanted a class A RV, we realized pretty quickly that a school bus conversion would be much better.

Ideally we’d love an electric bus, but we know that there are very few electric school buses out there, and almost none used as most are still in service. I found a few threads from last year discussing electric buses, and I’ve read a lot about various financial support from governments for school districts who purchase school buses, but there also seems to be a lot of discussion that many of the ROI models for electric buses are actually unrealistic. I get that the debate can go either way, but what I’m keen to know is when people think a used market for electric buses might emerge?

I know there would still be problems – most obviously range and battery technology, and what exists (or will exist) of a charging infrastructure in various places – but we don’t want to rule out the possibility of getting and converting an electric bus just yet.

Does anyone have “inside” info on the used electric bus market and the feasibility of converting and running one full time?

Thanks!

(I didn't put this in the Electrical Forum as I figured it's more about a conversion than electrical systems, but please move it if I've got that wrong!)

MuseliMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2020, 01:51 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1999