Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-29-2020, 02:32 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Collins
Chassis: Chevrolet Express
Engine: 6.0L Gasoline
Exterior and frame rust underneath rub rails

I recently bought a bus with some pretty nasty rust, and I'm wondering what steps need to be taken to properly deal with it. This is my first build and I'm new to all this, so please bear with me.

It looks like the rub rails were not properly sealed and water was pooling behind them, causing rust to eat through the exterior of the bus and some parts of the frame. I removed the rub rails and got rid of as much of the rust as possible from the outside. The attached images show what some of these areas look like now.

For areas where the frame seems pretty much intact, there is clearly surface rust (at least) between the exterior metal and the frame or underlying metal that I can't access from the outside. I assume this needs to be dealt with. How should I go about doing this? Would I cut a rectangular panel out of the side of the bus around the area, clean up/treat the rust underneath and weld a new panel in its place? What tool/method would I use to do this, assuming I want to avoid cutting deeper than the thickness of the exterior metal?

For areas where there are holes in the frame, what is the best course of action? Could I just eliminate and treat the rust to keep it from spreading, and then add some kind of reinforcement? Or do these sections need to be replaced entirely?

My father-in-law is basically telling me to just hit whatever I can reach with a wire wheel, prime it, patch everything with fiberglass, and call it a day, which I'm assuming is not the advice I'm going to get on here. What are the consequences of doing it his way?
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1241[1].jpg   IMG_1240[1].jpg   IMG_1246[1].jpg   IMG_1248[1].jpg   IMG_1249[1].jpg