Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-25-2021, 09:25 PM   #21
Bus Geek

Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
I'm not an engineer but I'd be concerned that a transfer of load would occur at both the front and back of your "red" insert. On the other hand if the new load could be managed by the original frame mounts it should be OK.

Take a look at the GM upfitters site for some ideas.

https://www.gmupfitter.com/.
Jack

ol trunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 05:45 PM   #22
Mini-Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by ol trunt View Post
I'm not an engineer but I'd be concerned that a transfer of load would occur at both the front and back of your "red" insert. On the other hand if the new load could be managed by the original frame mounts it should be OK.

Take a look at the GM upfitters site for some ideas.

https://www.gmupfitter.com/.
Jack
Do you mean to say they'd act like a stress riser? I can see that. I'm not exactly sure how it'd play out without delving into the engineering a bit more thoroughly... but I figure it could work like a bridge with an inverted truss, wherein the axles are the foundations of the bridge which the truss transfers the load to, and are roughly at either end of the truss.

In any case, I'll look at the bodybuilder guide!

Also, what's the opinion on taking paint off weeks or months prior to painting? I';m debating doing this soon because the bus in its current state is a blotchy mess of red, blue, brown, and black... it's a bit of an eyesore and the neighours would cause a fuss over that I know... :\ On the other hand, I don't want to jeapordize my paintjob or give myself extra work having to deal with future flash rust, if keeping the current paint on prior to that makes my job easier. Thoughts?
baipin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 06:25 PM   #23
Bus Geek

Year: 1935