Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2011, 05:47 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: T444
Rated Cap: 22
Going to look at a Navistar Vista, Advice

Tomorrow morning I'm going to look at what may be my first bus. It's a Navistar Vista with a T444e and I was wondering what I need to know or if anyone has an opinion on this vehicle. As a newbie I'm a bit worried that I don't know what I don't know. I spend a couple days a week out of town for work and thought it would be nice to be comfy. Any advice whould be appreciated before I took the plunge. Thanks

Roachhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 02:16 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Re: Going to look at a Navistar Vista, Advice

Well I haven't heard a word but I went for it and now am the proud owner of a 99 International Vista short bus rated cap 22 passengers powered by a T444 . I was very happy with how well it started and ran on the 260 mile drive home. Handling was excellent although the ride is a bit rough, it is a school bus after all. It maintains a steady 60 mph at 2700 rpm with the foot on the floor. I'd like to go to a bigger tire to reduce the rpms in an attempt to improve the fuel mileage. With my foot on the floor 100% it seemed to get 9 mpg and backing off just a bit turned up 10 mpg (I'm aware it's not enough miles for acurate numbers). The wheels will have to wait but has anyone done it and did it make a significant difference? Next step is getting it converted to a camper and getting it legal as far as registration is concerned. So I'd still be happy to hear any advice anyone would care to offer on getting the conversion started.
Old 02-22-2011, 07:06 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1993
Coachwork: Genesis
Engine: DTA360
Rated Cap: 16

Congrats on picking up the bus...

The same thing goes for all newbies... We want pics...