Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-19-2010, 10:27 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Hello

Hi folks,

skoolie noob here. ive been lurking for over a month now and i am blown away by the creative, mechanical and wandering nature of everyone. all of you are quite inspiring. take a bow.

more about me over time i suppose. here is what i am planning:

conventional nose, international, gmc or ford - in that order
no preference on body manufacturer but blue bird seems to be an eventuality
engine/trans t/b/d - the more i read, the more ill probably turn to diesel (a first for me)
intermediate size. not a shorty nor a full size
will tow a jeep or pickup - hopefully w/o the need for a trailer

solar with agm's to run 120v (that stranded/solid debate has me scratching my head!) im leaning toward solid since i trust my attention to detail
shore hookup just in case id like to grace some rv lots
propane to fire cooktop, backup gen, heater and hot water heater
fresh/gray/black tanks - debating underbelly or interior (i would like as much capacity as possible without being a pool on wheels)

bath with small sink, rv toilet and largest shower i can shoe horn in there (36"x36" maybe)
kitchen with two burner cooktop, sink and spot for micro (i am considering forgoing an oven)
refrigeration via coolers possibly, rather than conv fridge. id build them into cabinet/counter top, maybe two.
bedroom loft with queen bed up top and u shaped desk underneath (an extended height bus would be nice here)
salon area with loveseat sized sleeper and a lounge chair of some sort.
not sure about dinette, if not, then a dual purpose coffee table/dining table - adj height
sat tv (man i hope its feasible for hd as i am spoiled...if not, change is good and less is more
cellular 3g for internet and phone