Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-13-2007, 08:53 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Hello, new guy here.

I was just bitten by the Conversion Bug. After about a week of casual .net research I registered and have a few questions for you experienced guys. I would like to build a Bus Conversion to serve my wife and I and our Grandkids now and again. Just the two of us and a couple of dogs will be using the Bus for long trips with occasional day trips consisting of 4 adults and some small children.

I am a skilled do-it-yourselfer. I did custom Commercial and Residential remodels and new construction for many years. I am skilled in plumbing, wiring, and carpentry, painting, welding and light mechanical work and vehicle maintenance. I have been doing steel and wooden construction for 30+ years and I have a well-equipped shop.

Year and model is not important to me as long as I like the appearance. I like the look of the flat-nosed School buses but I am not familiar with diesel engines. However I can keep a big block GM, Ford or Chrysler running very well.

Following is a short list of what I want from our Bus:

The ability (power) to climb hills at a decent clip.

Highway cruising 65 mph without strain.

Tow a small pick-up, Jeep or Motorcycle trailer.

Sleeps 6 sounds about right to me.

I am also interested in learning if it would be worthwhile to run a bus on propane instead of gasoline or will I need the power of a diesel engine to move down the road and tow a small vehicle or trailer.

Maintenance and operating costs are also a concern; we are comfortable but not wealthy. I have no idea what those Coach conversion costs to operate and maintain but I am assuming they our out of our price range. A school bus looks like something we can handle and is not to big a project for one retired guy to handle with a couple of years of work.

All suggestions will be read with great interest!