Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2021, 10:20 AM   #1

Help with skoolie purchase

Hey all, new to forums and the skoolie world. I’ve been scoping buses for about 7 months now. I think I might have found a good one but want y’all’s opinion. This one is a 2004 international CE200 with a T444e paired with an Allison 2000. Has 155k miles. The seats have been removed and roof raised. My question is mainly does the roof job look good? Any other comments are welcome as well. Thanks all for future input.
Attached Thumbnails
B110B674-0090-4F3B-BB30-14CFD389761C.jpg   D17D6A36-721B-4230-B31B-6A5AC161F667.jpg   1B552665-84F2-4526-BBCF-3E1126F80282.jpg  

Lonnie92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2021, 10:29 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1974
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: "Atomic"
Engine: DD 8V71
That roof raise job is definitely not finished. They used round pipe or tube instead of square, with angle iron sides, or standard hat channel...and that clearly leaves some of the sidewall skin unsupported...not great. They also didn't replace all the supports. And, while not probably necessary, it's usually common to stagger the frame cuts so you don't telegraph to the outside skin. But since the skin doesn't touch the frame, I guess that's not an issue...

Are you a welder or have a connection to someone who can finish that job properly? The hard part, getting the sides cut and the roof jacked and the outer skin on, is done. So if you can get the bus cheaply, it might be worth finishing the structural part yourself. But...and this is the bit but...if this is how they considered the job complete, then I'd be suspicious of the work here and elsewhere. What does the outside skin look like?
rossvtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2021, 10:51 AM   #3