Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2014, 11:05 PM   #1

Hey I'm new here! Advice needed! on this bus in particular

Hey everyone! I'm brand new here! I have many, many questions. My boyfriend and I are looking into buying a bus conversion, and I'm torn between a skoolie and an old transit bus. I've been looking old MCIs, GMCs and Eagles online, and I love the older models, especially the 60's GMCs. But I keep going back to Bluebird Wanderlodges and just Bluebirds in general. An old Bluebird is actually what put the nail in the coffin for me that, yes, I most definitely want to full-time in an old bus. What are the pros and cons of transit vs. school bus? I know transits are more expensive and school buses are a little less smooth on the ride. Like I said, I am brand new to this and have no experience whatsoever. Ideally, I would like to find something that has good bones and most of the conversion done, and gradually retrofit it to be completely self-contained and energy efficient. For example, something that already has the essential wiring/plumbing/mechanical work done- where sometime down the line I will add solar panels, a compost toilet, energy efficient appliances, and a good battery bank (if I could ever afford lithium batteries in my lifetime, haha). The interior style is not really a problem, I know someone that can help me rebuild the interior if needed. I would, however, love to be able to upgrade all the systems myself, or with someones help. I basically plan to very, very slowly make my way around the country, workamping here and there for a few months at a time. So I will not be doing tons of driving. If anyone has any advice on that I would appreciate it. I'd also love to learn more about how conversions work. I have been doing LOTS of research online and am really falling in love with buses and the full-time lifestyle, but nothing beats hands-on