Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2016, 07:28 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 98
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: D
Engine: 7.2L turbo Cat C7 3126
Rated Cap: 84
How much to swap out a tire?

I have a 98 Thomas MVP and 7 bus tires. 6 of the tires are installed on the bus, and of those, 5 look to be in great shape. The 6th mounted tire has much less tread on it. The 7th tire is new and is being stored in the lower bus storage compartment. I would like to swap places between tires 6 and 7 (use the oldest tire as a spare until I can get a brand new spare and install the new tire in it's place.)

I am very new to truck repair costs. About how much should it cost to drive my bus to a shop and have them remove the old tire and install the new tire?

And would you suggest I go to a national truck place(TA, Pilot, or Love's) or is it better to go to a tire specific store like Bridgestone, or perhaps a local truck mechanic?

Thanks so much!

Photos of my bus can be seen at:
TheBigBusTheory.wordpress.com

gobygoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 08:52 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Save the good tire for later.

You want to keep the same size tires on the drive axle--all four need to be the same height or you will be having additional tire problems as one tire will be carrying more weight than another. Additionally, if one side is enough taller than the other you run the risk of burning out the rear end as it will always be differentialling.

Your best tires, and not a recap, should be up front.

If changing the tire you mean to swap one mounted tire for another it could cost anywhere from $15.00 to $100.00.

If there is a large truck stop near by that has a tire shop you will most likely find a lower price if you go during the business day during the week. Nights and weekends might be handier for you but many times the prices can be higher.