Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2013, 02:52 PM   #1

Howdy! Traveling Office Conversion - lots of questions!

Hello there everyone! Don't you just love forums? I learned very quickly the people who know what they're doing and *care* usually are on the forums. I restored a 1991 Honda CRX and www.crxcommunity.com was and has been an amazing resource for me. I hope this place is the same!

Anyways, I've had the idea to do a traveling office in a bus for a long time. I'm a Web Developer, which means I do the programming for complex websites and web applications. I am fortunate enough to be able to do this work wherever I want. I also speak at Web Development conferences sometimes, so I figured a traveling office could be amazing. I will need satellite internet (which I can easily pay for through Verizon MiFI or something) - and power to run a few laptops. I don't have a server farm or anything - not lots of power drawn. This bus would clearly be a business expense, including renovation. I know people who can help me with the woodworking, electrical, etc if I run into problems. It also has to be safe for my "office dog", Dina.

I'm located in Asheville, NC - there is a VERY large Biodiesel community here. I would like to take advantage of that. Any locals? Know where to get good busses in the area?

I've been looking at Bluebird TC-2000's. I love the flat-front design, so I know I want that at least. I would like to gut one and replace the floors with a nice hardwood and keep a few seats for driving. Max legally I'd like to be able to transport 4 people other than me, maybe this is not required. Thoughts on that model? Similar busses?

I need enough space for at least 2 standing desks, and possibly an IKEA couch or something, and a coffee table, that's it.