Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-26-2009, 03:51 AM   #1
Bus Geek

Send a message via MSN to the_experience03 Send a message via Yahoo to the_experience03
Re: I'm new to this, can I get some help?

You are granted reciprocity in all states. SOME might require you to weigh up at weigh stations, but I haven't heard of any specifically.

The process to get converted is very easy. You fill out an affidavit stating what you did (even if you didn't get to it yet...) and they change the title type. If you're smart you will fill out a change of class form at the same time and get it registered at a lower, cheaper weight.

I don't have the form sitting in front of me, but it's much like signing up for classes. You must have so many electives from this group and that group. Your plan as it is now will not work I do not think, unless of course you commit a little purgery.

If you have the following you should be ok.

1. 12 volt electrical system separate of the engine. Batteries will qualify so long as you can establish that they are for the purposes of house power and not chassis power.

2. 120 volt electrical independent of the engine. Again, batteries and an inverter will work or a generator. The point is that you can't duct tape an extension cord to the floor and call it permanent independent 120 vac.

3. Potable water. A 6 gallon jug of water on the counter isn't going to cut it here.

4. Permanent cooking fixtures. Microwaves and a hot plate are all good and well, but I seem to recall the requirements specifically stating that you need L.P. or natural gas.

5. Permanent sleeping quarters.

6. Bathroom facilities. A chemical toilet/portapotty WILL qualify here.