Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2019, 06:30 PM   #21
Bus Nut
 
geminusprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 255
Year: 1997
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Vista 3600
Engine: DT466E / AT545
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rovobay View Post
Christopher, thanks for posting the links to the BlueFire item on amazon. I think I like this route as the scangauge D just appears to be too small for my liking. I have an Edge CTS monitor in my truck and love it. switch power settings on the fly (via EFIlive) and can monitor a variety of things via a touch screen (4.3").
Oh that thing looks neat. Looks like I'm gonna be replacing my scangauge 2 with a bluefire.
geminusprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 06:38 PM   #22
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 14,680
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
The bluefire is pretty nice, however they donít have any way to add PIDs manually. For instance I want to see HPOP data, I can go to the bluefire diagnostics and tell it to go grab PID 164, which it does but thereís no way to make it more than just a diagnostic look at it . They do have an API out so Iím guessing Iím back to writing my own software to get all the navistar specific PIDs.

I use my EFIlive flashcan2 and a second tablet to show my trans info , plus I can load different trans tunes as needed or tweak the shift patterns.
Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 10:24 AM   #23
Bus Nut
 
Rovobay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Damascus, OR
Posts: 673
Year: 2004
Chassis: International
Engine: T444e w/ 2000 Allison Trans
Rated Cap: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
The bluefire is pretty nice, however they donít have any way to add PIDs manually. For instance I want to see HPOP data, I can go to the bluefire diagnostics and tell it to go grab PID 164, which it does but thereís no way to make it more than just a diagnostic look at it . They do have an API out so Iím guessing Iím back to writing my own software to get all the navistar specific PIDs.

I use my EFIlive flashcan2 and a second tablet to show my trans info , plus I can load different trans tunes as needed or tweak the shift patterns.
Christopher

If this a relatively new product I am sure there app will be updated over time where this would be a possibility. Perhaps they just need some customer feedback! I gotta say, I love your set up but I do not possess the skill set to make it happen for me!
__________________
My Build: https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/sk...doo-22140.html

Follow our build on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/skoolie_doo/
Rovobay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 05:45 PM   #24
Bus Crazy
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,983
Year: 1971
Coachwork: Wayne
Chassis: International Loadstar 1700
Engine: 345 international V-8
Here is what I have from a 99 Amtran, that a 444 in it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190321_183530.jpg (149.0 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 20190321_183551.jpg (184.3 KB, 17 views)
Ronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 07:30 PM   #25
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 14,680
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Ronnie that’s a communicating dash cluster, it talk Inc the J1708 network for the mph,rpm,volts,oil p, water temp.
Fuel level and trans temp are separate senders hard wired. Air pressure is an actual air line.

Looks like that one had an ammeter originally . It is a shunted type ammeter.
Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 05:40 PM   #26
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 529
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
And not the right one. The Digital route looks like the way to go
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 07:45 PM   #27
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 14,680
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
navistar had so many different cluster packages they offered.. abiout the time I think ive figured them out i see something different in the field.. like last weekend, joihn's bus has a communicating cluster.. it showed up on his networkj.. but has the 230 degree temop gauge. which was normally only on the non communicating units...



the comm units fpr 444e / 466e usually have a 280 top scale gauge..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 10:36 AM   #28
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 529
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Are you saying that the green connector that clips into the back of the instrament cluster is the one im looking for?
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 10:41 AM   #29
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 14,680
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I'll have to pull the pinouts and see which connector has the comms wires on it. I remember its a twisted pair of black wires on my bus the middle connector if I remember right
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 10:42 AM   #30
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 529
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
I'm going to purchasethe blue fire but not sure which one to get. I can handle the mech. Stuff but the electronic stuff confuses me
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 11:23 AM   #31
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 529
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
I ordered it. Can't wait to get it.
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 01:05 PM   #32
Bus Nut
 
Rovobay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Damascus, OR
Posts: 673
Year: 2004
Chassis: International
Engine: T444e w/ 2000 Allison Trans
Rated Cap: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
I ordered it. Can't wait to get it.

Let me know what you think. I love the idea of a larger digital screen to show various specs. (much larger than the scangauge d) gonna mount a small tablet or phone near the cluster?
__________________
My Build: https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/sk...doo-22140.html

Follow our build on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/skoolie_doo/
Rovobay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 01:09 PM   #33
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 529
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
Im gonna use a tablet. Set it right where the instrament cluster was. It doors so much more than the original analog cluster. I'll keep you informed
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 01:51 PM   #34
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 14,680
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
thats what I did, I have 2 tablets on my dash for all my info.. one for engine one for trans..



Next stop is to get rid of my ugly switch panel and have glass touch switches for heat , A/C and such
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 01:53 PM   #35
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 529
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
That would be very nice. Great idea
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 02:00 PM   #36
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 14,680
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
That would be very nice. Great idea

im doing the switches with raspberry PI's with each having a 7 inch touch screen. writing the GUI for the switches in QT on Linux.. so far the PI's have done good with Heat testing.. my panel is a little flatter than I like so it might take a little more sun than it should... might need something to go over the screens when im summer parked.



I think you've seen the tablets I use..



Bluefire also has an API so its possible to take their sample app and add more data to it.. as it is, there are a few more PID's i'd like it to display related to the HEUI system.
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 02:04 PM   #37
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 529
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
I wouldn't know what to do with all that information. Haha. I remember your monitor set up. That new raspberry dialed panel will be sweet. Post its construction please
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 02:16 PM   #38
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 14,680
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
some of that info is useless until you have an issue... ultimately the HEUI info is what you use if the engine starts stumbling, idles rough, wont start, loses power.. otherwise you dont use it.. its also helpful when you are power-adding..



things like throttle position, engine load factor, boost pressure and such are useful in normal driving, and the bluefire displays those goodies..



in my case the transmission info has been helpful as I dial in the custom build.. the idea to have a transmission to shift at the perfect time when you need more power and to upshift to keep the MPGs up.. at times Ms. allison and I have words...
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 02:18 PM   #39
Bus Nut
 
Dead pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: in the bus on the road
Posts: 529
Year: 1998
Coachwork: myself
Chassis: amtran
Engine: international dt466e allison md 3060
Rated Cap: 13 ton or so says the tit
I wish ms. Allison would give up that 6th gear. Pain in the ass to get it done.
Dead pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 04:42 PM   #40
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 14,680
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead pirate View Post
I wish ms. Allison would give up that 6th gear. Pain in the ass to get it done.

agreed esp when its the older WTEC-II stuff.. seems the programming tools for those are unobtainable..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×