Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2020, 09:24 AM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2004
Engine: 7.3L Navistar T444e Diesel
Laminate & Formaldehyde?!

So i just put in some vinyl flooring in the bus, and then i see all this stuff about Formaldehyde gassing, cancer, and especially in the Chinese made stuff.

I checked the box and yep, made in China.
I got the flooring at a Habitat For Humanity Restore and have no idea how long those boxes have been around. Also, they sat in a shed for a couple of months since purchase. It will be another couple of months before the bus is used to live in, though I work in it every day.
Don;t know if any of this even matters, because some accounts are this stuff leeches out for a decade.

Any input?

I'm now debating tearing out the laminate floor and using some other wood, maybe plywood cut into strips.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1025 2.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	140.2 KB
ID:	44723

Joe45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 09:35 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
What, you don’t like New Car Smell? It’s interesting that Americans In general love that smell, but car buyers in Asia hate it.
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 09:43 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: C7 Cat
Formaldehyde is used in many products and the reason it is more prevalent in products from overseas is that it is used as a preservative and mold inhibitor. Furniture that can be expected to be boxed in a shipping container for sometimes months can be saturated with it.